I’m a celebrity!

I’m not really into this kind of thing (I love doing them but wonder whether anyone will bother reading to the end) BUT I was EXTREMELY flattered to be tagged by http://kateonthinice.wordpress.com …and actually as I answered the questions I discovered it brought out yet more disgraceful information about me; so perhaps it’s worth adding this to the little catalogue of sordid facts that I am so foolishly sharing with the world!

Well, perhaps not the world – that’s getting somewhat ahead of myself – but from thinking this would be a good platform to keep my friends up to date with Sam’s progress, I am stunned to be already reaching 90 views a day. Not a huge number in the grand scheme of things, but far, far more than I was envisaging. Really don’t understand why so many people would be interested in my random ramblings…unless I just have a very good friend out there who clicks on my page 90 times to give me a confidence boost…? If so, I LOVE you!

All these unexpected views are making me feel a bit like a celebrity in fact… (That’s not strictly true, but it works for this post…)

Owing to the fact that ‘I’m a Celebrity, Get Me Out of Here’ has hit our television screens again (ohh lucky us…!), http://kateonthinice.wordpress.com has started this meme (did I get that right? – not up to speed with blogging terms yet). I personally don’t watch it; my evening viewing is currently limited to ‘How I Met Your Mother’ and ‘The Big Bang Theory’, and I don’t dare branch out with something else, otherwise I’ll end up wasting ALL my time slumped inert in front of the TV. I sadly lack the self-discipline to drag myself off the sofa once I’m there.

1. What one thing about being a parent makes you scream “Get me out of here!”

I’ve never screamed ‘Get me out of here!’ – I think Sam would be slightly concerned if I did. He’s embarrassed enough of me as it is. However, it does sometimes exasperate me that you can’t drop everything and do something on a whim. The thing I fantasize most about possibly finding an ‘other half’ one day, is being evil and sneaking out on the odd weekend, leaving a ‘Good luck!’ note on the pillow. Although my unrealistic dream of ‘this is what it’s like to be married’ has evolved still further to include chilly hand-holding: While on a walk in the woods earlier, we came across a couple who liked each other so much that they each had one hand out of their pocket in order to hold hands; WITHOUT GLOVES. I want that!

I was told an amusing ‘Get me out of here!’ story by someone who got trapped in a hen house a couple of days ago. I’m not allowed to reveal who it was but found it too funny not to share; she was stuck in there for about half an hour and had to semi dig her way out.

Revenge at last!

2. What skills, if any, do you have that would be useful in the jungle?

I don’t have any useful jungle skills to speak of. I’d struggle to find the camp if I wandered more than a few paces away: we went to Center Parcs last month and Sam and I got so lost I had to ring a friend (not even on holiday with us) and ask her to direct us back to our villa by using a  map on the internet. My TomTom angel!

Hang on, I could build a den!

3. How are you likely to annoy people if you were stuck with them for 3 weeks?

Oh I’m incredibly annoying but this blog isn’t exactly a good advert as it is, so I’ll keep quiet about additional negative personality traits and hope you don’t find them out for yourselves!

4. What is the worst thing you have ever eaten?

Most exotic would be octopus tentacle, ostrich and reindeer. Had the reindeer inFinland, but when the waitress came to take our order, I accidentally asked for ‘Rudolf’. Caused a few laughs at the look of horror on my face; you never imagine as a kid that one day you’ll be eating Santa’s favourite reindeer!

But the worst thing I’ve ever eaten (and this includes Sam’s snot and sick) was a wonderful meal of chicken breasts and veg, cooked by a younger me. I’m quite an experimental chef and rather liked the idea of having it with BBQ sauce and roasted almonds on the top. Shoved it all in the over but hastily took it out as soon as I saw the almonds were beginning to burn. Served it up immediately on two plates – mine and my one dinner guest’s. Funnily enough the chicken had not quite cooked through yet. I know, hard to believe a thin slice of almond takes less time to cook than a hunk of meat.

The one and only time I have not made it to the toilet in time.

5. What luxury item would you take into the jungle with you?

Hmm as I don’t watch ‘I’m A Celebrity’ I don’t know what counts as luxury. I don’t suppose I’d be allowed it anyway, but my sellotaped phone has become almost useless, so not that. And my hand extension (aka camera) would be pretty pointless if I was surrounded by TV cameras all day. The most luxurious time of day for me is on the rare occasion Sam gives in to call of sleep. The luxury then is feet up, (hoping to shift the varicose vein by draining the blood out!), Gilmore Girls on TV and mug of tea in hand. The size of the mug varies depending on the relative stresses of the day; but can range up to head size. There’s nothing like a nice bucket of tea.

6. What is the most daring thing you have ever done?

Saying no to abortion! But that turned out to be the best thing I ever did so it doesn’t count. When I was about 13, I thought it was really daring to go off to PGL camp. It was brilliant; definitely something I’ll encourage Sam to do.

Didn’t do a gap year before uni so haven’t got a whole list of mad things, but I did do a skydive in Sunderland and abseiled off Tyne bridge.

My current daring thing is writing this blog – am I really OK laying bare my soul for anyone to see? I’m not too sure.

7. Who would you miss most if you went into the jungle with a bunch of strangers?

I wouldn’t go for that long if I couldn’t take Sam, so I can’t say him. My parents maybe? Sam would really miss them, but I can’t help thinking, as much as I love them, that it would be quite refreshing to get away from everyone for a while. I’m really enjoying watching Sam play with his bezzie mates these days so we would miss them and their lovely mummies. Then of course there’s ex Cyber Boyfriend…but might find my Tarzan in the jungle so he’d be better off out of the way anyway!

8. What celebrity alive or dead would you like to have with you in the jungle?

Michael McIntyre is hilarious. And I’ve always thought he would make a good dad, so if he was there maybe he could divide his time between babysitting Sam and entertaining me. I’m going to see him in September, so maybe I’d get an upgrade my seats. Is it mad that I also have a bit of a crush on him? And find myself fancying anyone who can do a good impression of him?!

9. What would scare you about being in the jungle?

I’m scared of the dark and of anything that might be lurking in the shadows. I’m scared by pretty much everything in fact – since living alone I can’t even watch Midsomer Murders (and don’t get me started on the Halloween costumes people kept posting on Facebook)!

10. After leaving the jungle, you go to a luxury hotel. What would be the first thing you did on reaching your hotel?

Shower! It’s the first thing I do on entering any establishment! I have to wash my hair in a basin here. Hence why I am planning a drastic haircut…

11th mission should you choose to accept it is to tell us why the person who tagged you is a star. (For the uninitiated, stars play a big part in the television programme)

She is very good with words and seems to inspire a lot of people through her blog. I’ve only recently started following her (sounds so wrong) but am really enjoying her posts. Definitely worth checking out!

2 Comments

  1. Vicki, you never fail to make me laugh and brighten my day. THAT is why you are such a celebrity. Congrats on all the traffic 🙂 You deserve it!

  2. Thank you 🙂 I think I’ve got New Blogger Syndrome – I’m still embarrassed that people can actually READ this, yet I’m checking my stats every time I go online. Can’t believe how much enjoyment I’m getting out of writing – my little brainbox must’ve been screaming out for a bit of exercise!

Leave a Reply

